Gentlemen, suppose all the property you were worth was in gold

http://www.warrenkeelan.com/collections/wave-printsWarrenKeelan_Glacier_large.png

……………………………………………………………..

Gentlemen, suppose all the property you were worth was in gold and you had put it in the hands of Blondin to carry across the Niagra River on a rope, would you shake the rope or keep shouting out to him, ‘Blondin, stand a little straighter—Blondin, stoop a little more–go a little faster–lean a little more to the north–lean a little more to the south.’  No, you would hold your breath as well as your tongue and keep your hands off till he was safe over.  The Government are carrying an immense weight….

If I were to try to read, much less answer, all the attacks made on me, this shop might as well be closed for any other business.  I do the very best I know how–the very best I can, and I mean to keep doing so until the end.  If the end brings me out all right, what’s said against me won’t amount to anything.  If the end brings me out wrong, ten angels swearing I was right would make no difference.      -Abe Lincoln, in Fr. Carpenter:  Six Months at the White House, 1866, pp. 257-9

Francis Carpenter-Francis Carpenter (1830-1900)

I have faith in the people.  They will not consent to disunion.  The danger is in their being misled.  Let them know the truth and the country is safe.     -Lincoln, in ibid., p. 264

 

Leave a Reply

